non-traditional thanksgiving side dish

Great Thanksgiving side dishes include green bean casserole, stuffing, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes. All are traditional side dishes found on American tables across the country. But what about sauerkraut? Not really traditional you say? Yeah, I thought everyone had sauerkraut at Thanksgiving. Sauerkraut was always on the buffet table at my grandmother’s house, right next to the Stove-Top Stuffing.

I am running the risk of embarrassing my mother by telling you this story. But I can’t resist and she’ll probably laugh til she cries anyway.

A few years ago, (I really wish I had been there to see this) my mother looked at two bowls of what she thought were mashed potatoes. Thinking that the family really didn’t need two bowls of mashed potatoes on the table, she combined the two bowls. Little did she know that only one of the bowls was actually mashed potatoes…the other was sauerkraut!

She couldn’t tell the difference between the two dishes. Nobody would confuse anyone in my family with Rachael Ray. Anyhoo, everyone just put a lot of gravy on their sauerkraut-mashed-potatoes that year. I stomach hurts just thinking about it.

Funny, that dish never caught on for future holiday dinners. Go figure.

Love ya Mom! Happy Thanksgiving.

Categories: family holiday, Food, Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “non-traditional thanksgiving side dish

  1. grandma connie

    I always thought it would have been a good idea for my family to label their side dish they brought in to but on the table, so there would be no mistake on what you were putting on your plate. It may look like apple pie ( but it taste like peach). I have more wonderful receipes if you would like to try any?

    happy thanksgiving from the Missouri family

  2. grandma connie

    I always thought it would have been a good idea for my family to label their side dish they brought in to but on the table, so there would be no mistake on what you were putting on your plate. It may look like apple pie ( but it taste like peach). I have more wonderful reciepe’s if you would like to try them?

    happy thanksgiving from the Missouri family

    • got2havefaith

      I think labels is a great idea! I once left the whole bag of goodies in the turkey. Only found after we carved the turkey! Oops

      • grandma connie

        i think i did that more than once, it is one of my receipes . See you already have one of them.

Leave a reply, but please be kind. Name calling or profanity will not be allowed.

