Whatever happened to good ‘ol fashioned book reports?

WARNING: I just need to vent.

I just want to know when it happened that 4th graders are expected to do so much homework (a.k.a. busy work)?

My 4th grade is reading the novel Robin Hood and His Merry Men. She brought home a packet of fill-in-the-blank worksheets and crossword puzzles. After an hour and a half of me helping her, we still could not finish the assignments. I even read the 3 chapters that referenced these puzzles…and, apparently, I am not smarter than a 4th grade teacher.

The night ended with her frustrated because we couldn’t finish, and me “Googling” for the answers (or any word that would fit in the crossword space).

So, I have to ask, “Whatever happened to good ol’ fashioned book reports?”

Read the book. Write a report. Stand in front of the class and read it. Done. Simple.

Categories: crazy world of parenting, Life everyday | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a reply, but please be kind. Name calling or profanity will not be allowed.

